Supervisory Board of the Zumtobel Group

Supervisory board members
Members of the Supervisory Board
The members of the Supervisory Board are elected by the annual general meeting. The Austrian Stock Corporation Act allows employee representatives to delegate one member to the Supervisory Board for every two members elected by the annual general meeting. 



Function Appointed/delegated in Term ends in Service time to date 
Dipl.-Ing. Jürg Zumtobel Chairman 2003 2020 16 years
Dr. Volkhard Hofmann First Vice-Chairman 2017 2020 2 years
Dr. Johannes Burtscher Second Vice-Chairman 2010 2020 9 years
Dipl.-Ing. Fritz Zumtobel Member  1996  2020  23 years 
Dipl.Betrw. Eva Kienle  Member 2019 2023   
Karin Zumtobel-Chammah Member  2019  2023   
Dietmar Dünser Delegated by the Employees' Council 2015 4 years
Richard Apnar      Delegated by the Employees' Council 2012   7 years
Kai Arbinger  Delegated by the Employees' Council 2016   3 years 
Criteria of Independence
Criteria of Independence

The Supervisory Board initially defined the criteria for the independence of its members in accordance with Rule 53 at a meeting on 29 September 2006. On 26 June 2009 the Supervisory Board approved an amended version of these criteria, which more closely reflects the guidelines of the Austrian Corporate Governance Code. These criteria, which have been in effect since 2009, were updated by the Supervisory Board of Zumtobel Group AG in a meeting on 25 June 2013 to reflect a formal, immaterial adjustment. In accordance with these criteria, a member of the Supervisory Board is considered to be independent when he/she has no business or personal relations with the Zumtobel Group or the Management Board of Zumtobel Group AG. Such relations include, among others, significant customer delivery transactions or close family ties. The criteria for independence are disclosed in full on the Zumtobel Group’s website (

All members of the Supervisory Board have declared their independence in accordance with these criteria, and Rules 39 and 53 are therefore met in full. Two members of the Supervisory Board – Volkhard Hofmann and Johannes Burtscher – are independent and neither shareholders nor representatives of shareholders with an investment of more than 10%. Accordingly, Rule 54 is also met in full.

All contracts with members of the Supervisory Board which involve activities outside the scope of Supervisory Board responsibilities and are connected remuneration exceeding minor value must be submitted to the Supervisory Board for approval in accordance with legal regulations. The related objects and remuneration are disclosed in section 1.6.2 (Contracts with members of the Supervisory Board). L-Rule 48 and C-Rule 49 of the Corporate Governance Code are therefore mete in full.

All functions or corporate positions held by members of the Supervisory Board outside the Zumtobel Group are disclosed on the Group’s website ( and listed in this corporate governance report in accordance with Rules 56 and 57.



add to download list