Supervisory Board of the Zumtobel Group

Supervisory board members
Members of the Supervisory Board
The members of the Supervisory Board of Zumtobel Group AG are elected by the Annual General Meeting. The Austrian Stock Corporation Act allows employee representatives to delegate one member to the Supervisory Board for every two members elected by the Annual General Meeting.



Function appointed term ends in service time
Dipl.-Ing. Jürg Zumtobel Chairman 2003 2020 15 years
Dr. Johannes Burtscher Second Vice Chairman 2010 2020 8 years
Dr. Stephan Hutter (until 31 January 2018) First Vice Chairman 2010 8 years
Dr. Volkhard Hoffmann (as of 21 July 2017) Member 2017 2020 1 year
Dipl.-Ing. Fritz Zumtobel Member  1996  2020  21 years 
Dr. Rüdiger Kapitza (until 5 June 2017) Member 2015   2 years
Dipl.-Phys. Hans-Peter Metzler (until 31 January 2018) Member 2010 8 years
Dietmar Dünser Delegate of the Employee Representative  2015 n.a.  3 years

Richard Apnar

Delegate of the Employee Representative

2012     n.a. 6 years

Kai Arbinger

Delegate of the Employee Representative

2016 n.a. 2 years
Criteria of Independence
Criteria of Independence
The Supervisory Board initially defined the criteria for the independence of its members in accordance with Rule 53 at a meeting on 29 September 2006. On 26 June 2009 the Supervisory Board approved an amended version of these criteria, which more closely reflects the guidelines of the Austrian Corporate Governance Code. These criteria, which have been in effect since 2009, were updated by the Supervisory Board of Zumtobel Group AG in a meeting on 25 June 2013 to reflect a formal, but not material adjustment. In accordance with these criteria, a member of the Supervisory Board is considered to be independent when he/she has no business or personal relations with the Zumtobel Group or the Management Board of Zumtobel Group AG. Such relations include, among others, material customer delivery transactions or close family ties. The criteria for independence are disclosed in full on the Zumtobel Group’s website ( 

All members of the Supervisory Board have declared their independence in accordance with these criteria, and Rules 39 and 53 are therefore met in full. Four members of the Supervisory Board – Rüdiger Kapitza, Stephan Hutter, Hans-Peter Metzler and Johannes Burtscher – are independent and neither shareholders nor representatives of shareholders with an investment of more than 10%. Accordingly, Rule 54 is also met in full. There are no contracts between the members of the Supervisory Board and the Zumtobel Group that require approval or must be disclosed under Rules 48 or 49.

All functions or corporate positions held by members of the Supervisory Board outside the Zumtobel Group are disclosed on the Group’s website ( and listed in this corporate governance report in accordance with Rules 56 and 57.

add to download list